top of page

Movie talk

Had a rough week so I didn't post yeterday nor on Thursday. That's why I am posting something today. I don't do well with schedules so don't count on the three times a week posting. It definitely ain't gonna be that way most of the time. Maybe I'll get better with time.

 

Anyway this time I wanna talk about movies and shows I've watched recently. In the past few months I've started watching movies a lot more than I used to. In fact I never used to watch movies before unless I was watching the TV with mom or someone else from my family. I really only always watched TV shows ever since I was a kid. Fairytales, animated, crimi and comedy shows. That was pretty much it. I also used to spend almost all my free time in front of the TV screen. Talk about healthy childhood. But hey, I've always been really introverted so after the first half of a day that I had to spend with up to 30 people in school, I much rather just sat on the floor in front of the TV to recharge. If I didn't sit in front of a TV, I was sitting somewhere with my nose buried in a book. So I didn't just stare into a screen all the time. But with going out to play it's a bit worse. Or much since I never really went out to play with anyone.

Back to the movies. I started going to a movie club, mainly because my former teacher goes there to talk about the producers and movies themselves. But I like it so I am maybe gonna start going to the screenings that he doesn't attend as well.

The very first screening I went to was Citizen Kane and after two hours of talking about journalism in school just an hour earlier - I was exhausted. But the movie kept my focus by how amazingly it was shot. Though I have to thank my former teacher for that, because he specifically asked us to notice the camera work and tricks. The story was good, not exactly something I'd watch all the time but entertaining enough for me to sit through it even when I was dead tired. I'd definitely reccomend it just for it being a great classic that brought some amazing techniques to the movie world which we now know very well.

Something I watched maybe something over a week ago, is a supposedly horror film called It Follows. I was looking for a horror to watch and this caught my eye just for the bizarre synopsis it has. "A curse is passed onto a 19-year-old girl by sexual intercourse and the only way to get rid of it is to pass it onto someone else." It sounds weird and kinda stupid right? Well the movie is actually really good. It's not exactly my favourite but it was beautifully shot, had some great moments that made the viewer feel uneasy and a lot of people found it genuinly terrifiying. I rarely get scared when watching horror movies and the feeling of uneasiness is really the only thing that could be bothering me, but that's good enough. I much prefer movies like this that don't rely on jumpscares and brutality for the scary factor. I find those quite boring honestly. Of course there are some very good horros out there that have jumpscares and a bunch of blood and organs and pieces of human bodies, but these parts are usually still the worst about them, at least for me. It never happened to me that I lost sleep because of a movie but I did think that now I have another good reason not to have sex with anyone after watching.

So that's one classic and one horror. How about a show now? My friend reccomended this one to me and it's none other than American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace. I only watched the first few episodes because I had some work to do and then I was watching something else, which I'd like to talk about about in a moment. It is the secong season of the show American Crime Stories and my friend was nagging me for about two weeks about it, so I finally found a few moments for it and watched it. So far I am not entirely sure how I feel about it. Since it's supposedly based on real events I applaud the creativity behind the idea and I sure enjoyed watching Versace's murder while wearing his jean shorts. (They were normal jeans, I just cut them. Oops.) I like the characters. And I very much like the portrayal and character of Andrew Philip Cunanan. I have a weak spot for people who went a bit mad. It's more a fascination kind of a thing than adoring them, like some people do. CoughTrueCrimeSocietyCough. Anyway I think for people who are interested in these kinds of things I think this is great, I just didn't really get into it and I'm not even sure I am gonna finish the season. I might give a chance to the first one though, which should be about OJ Simpson and that's a case that caught my interest even before, so I would like to see how the creators of the show presented it. Since it is made as a TV show, not a documentary, which I honestly love the idea.

And the last thing I wanna talk about today is an animated show called Voltron: The Legendary Defender, which is also the show for which I abandoned Versace's case. I am a child inside and hopefully always will be, so I watch a bunch of animated kids' shows. And honestly some of the depth in this particular one feels a bit too much for let's say a six-yearl-old. Though I don't even know what age group is it really intended for, I am pretty sure it's not mine. Recently sixth season came out and me and my great friend finally got to watch it, synced up from all across the country, screaming about the plot in a chat to each other. We should do this more often I think. It was great to go through the emotional rollercoaster this season was with someone who loves the characters and story just as much as I do. I look forward to what the next season is gonna bring us and what amazing shots will the animators make this time. Some of the scenes in this seasons in particular were so stunning. The animators at Dreamwors really do a great job at this show and I wouldn't expect any less of them.

So that's it for today's post. What movies and shows did you watch recently? Any good reccomendations? Reach out to me on my social media or contact me through this blog via my About page. Until next time!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
bottom of page